top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

The Essence

For over a decade it's been me and Gucci Guilty. Gucci Guilty has outlasted boyfrans, regular frans, jobs, cars, and most recently my metabolism. Old faithful, reliable, dependable, Gucci Guilty. It was my year round go-to perfume. Sure, other scents have come along the way but they were just play thangs. My heart truly belonged to Gucci Guilty. It wasn't just your run-of-the mill, one spritz on the wrist, twice on the neck, release into the air then ballerina twirl into that thang, perfume. It was a part of me! So many of my memories were attached to that perfume.. like the time twenty-two year old me watched as my boyfriend at the time buffed the word LIAR out of the side of his Cadillac. The narrative was, he went to a pool hall and some random girl accidently keyed the wrong car. Mistaken Identity supposedly. In between the lies he was telling, he managed to utter one truth "Whew girl, you smell good." Fast forward ten years and that same girl put on a white robe in preparation to get baptized. As she nervously waited in line a sweet lady tapped her on her shoulder and said "don't be nervous. The Lord is proud of you and girl, you smell good." So, you see.. Gucci Guilty isn't just a scent. It has grown with me, cried with me and moved from city to city with me so you can imagine my dismay when I marched into Macys two months ago and was told by the sales girl that they "only changed the bottle, the essence is the same." Maaaam, the essence? What does that even mean?

The sad part is, I tried. I bought it and even convinced myself that I was trippin and maybe since I'm getting older it was my hormones or maybe my nostrils were on their last leg. It wasn't until my best friend called me and screamed "Chas, they took it away. They took away Gucci Guilty" that I was able to come to grips with my new reality. Gucci Guilty is gone and I need to let go. The essence simply wont do. The "essence" is a peppery, less than stellar version of what was. I cant go forward with "the essence." How am I supposed to go on a date wearing "the essence?" How am I supposed to get married drenched in "the essence? "How am I supposed to teach my future kids real principles if I settle for "the essence." It's all too much. It's all really dramatic as well but at the end of the day I just want people to stop discontinuing the good stuff. First, Sonic did away with the sweetheart blast milkshake for Valentines day. Then, they took away the lemon Jolly Rancher. Now, I gotta smell like a peppered flower. What next?? What next, world??? By all means, I know that we've got bigger fish to fry...one day I'll blog about the deep stuff and we can even Jazz ALL them fish up with Zatarain's but for now.. I need you all to know I'm not happy with the essence. Bring back the OG Gucci Guilty. How am I supposed to remember how it felt watching that man buff out the word liar?? Memories!

bottom of page